Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the beginning and most important stage of school life. It covers the development of children from the age of three to the end of the Reception year. Children learn to adapt from the home environment to the new and challenging experiences of school. They meet new people and learn to work together, to share, to co-operate and to solve problems. The EYFS principles which guide the work of all practitioners are grouped into four distinct but complementary themes:

  • A unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling environments
  • Learning and development

The EYFS curriculum underpins all future learning by promoting and developing through the following seven EYFS educational programmes:

3 prime areas:

- Communication and language

- Physical development

- Personal social and emotional development

4 specific areas:

- Literacy

- Mathematics           

- Understanding the world

- Expressive arts and design

 We follow the three characteristics of effective teaching and learning. These are:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically


On-going assessment is an integral part of the learning and development process. It involves adults knowing children's level of achievement and interest, and then shaping teaching and learning experiences for each child reflecting that knowledge. Our assessment does not entail prolonged breaks from interaction with children. We draw on our knowledge of the child and our own expert professional judgement.

If a child's progress gives calls for concern we discuss this with the child's parents/carers and agree how to support the child.

The Reception baseline assessment is a short assessment taken in the first six weeks in which the child starts reception.

The EYFS profile is completed in the final term of Reception. This profile provides parents and carers and teachers with a well-rounded picture of a child's knowledge, understanding and abilities, their attainment against expected levels, and their readiness for Year 1. 

EYFS Curriculum
Our curriculum has been carefully designed to ensure that it meets the needs of all our children. These are working documents and subject to change.
Talk Through Stories
We follow the Talk Through Stories programme ensuring all children have a quality story time every day that is based on quality interaction and a love of reading.
Talk Through Stories is for four to six-year-old children. It is especially for children who do not come from a language-rich home. It is designed to extend and deepen children’s vocabulary so that they can understand the books they will soon be able to read for themselves. 
Ruth Miskin
Spread the Happiness
Dough Disco
Children in EYFS enjoy Dough Disco sessions.
What is a Dough Disco?

Dough disco involves moulding play dough in time to music and performing different actions such as rolling it into a ball, flattening it, putting each individual finger into the dough, rolling it into a sausage and squeezing it.

Squiggle Early Learning Programme

In EYFS we develop our writing skills through a range of strategies including the Spread the Happiness Squiggle Early Learning Programme. This enables the children to develop the physical skills needed for early writing as well as having lots of fun.

What stages are there in the Squiggle Early Learning Programme?

  1. Wiggle me into a Squiggler is the first stage and is designed for the early stages of mark making and physical development used in writing.
  2. Squiggle Whilst you Wiggle is the next stage in early years child development and moves on to more advanced mark making and letter formation
  3. Squiggle me into a Writer is the final stage in our Squiggle Programme taking the child through cursive mark making and letter formation.