Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the beginning and most important stage of school life. It covers the development of children from the age of three to the end of the Reception year. Children learn to adapt from the home environment to the new and challenging experiences of school. They meet new people and learn to work together, to share, to co-operate and to solve problems. The EYFS principles which guide the work of all practitioners are grouped into four distinct but complementary themes:

  • A unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling environments
  • Learning and development

The EYFS curriculum underpins all future learning by promoting and developing through the following 7 areas of learning:

3 prime areas:

- Communication and language

- Physical development

- Personal social and emotional development


4 specific areas:

- Literacy

- Mathematics           

- Understanding the world

- Expressive arts and design

Teaching & Learning

We teach the 7 areas of learning through a cross curricular approach in Foundation Stage. The prime areas are considered to be the fundamental starting points to achieve any success in the specific areas. If a child is not making progress in physical development, communicate and language & personal, social and emotional development then they will find it more challenging to access and progress in the specific areas of learning. All of the areas of learning are delivered through planned, purposeful play with a balance of adult and child led activities.

Resources are located in designated areas and are easily accessed by the children. Pupils are encouraged to handle equipment carefully and to help with tidying up. We aim to encourage independence and develop a sense of responsibility in the children.

Planning & Assessment:

Curriculum planning is related to the children’s stage of development, the EYFS objectives, opportunities for assessment & progression, individual needs and interests. Planning involves all members of the Foundation Stage team to ensure a continuity of expectation and understanding of the individual stages of a child’s learning.

Planning is seen as a continuous process. Adults observe children’s responses to the activities and use this knowledge to promote and extend learning. There is a cyclical approach involving planning, observing and assessing.

All children’s progress is regularly assessed from the time they start school. Informal discussions or appointments will provide the opportunity for you to discuss your child’s progress or to raise any concerns. Once children enter full-time education their progress is shared with parents at consultation evenings.

Weekly letters are sent home to inform you of the learning taking place and any forthcoming events happening in school.